Reading Challenge

My Reading List for April 2019

Well here is the list of books I hope to read this April. I’m not sure if I’ll get to read all of them but I thought it’d be good to challenge myself. I always challenge myself with the amount of books I read in each year. I also do the summer reading challenge as well, so why not challenge myself every month.

April’s Reading Challange List.

The Bluebird Girls by Rosie Archer. Pages: 368. Publication Date: 4 April 2019.

Book 1 Bluebird Girls Collection.

Synopsis: The most heartwarming new wartime series of 2019. Hampshire, 1939, and three young women are about to get the break of a lifetime.

Rainey Bird, Ivy Sparrow and Bea Herron all love to sing. For Rainey, music has been a solace during the upheaval of starting a new life with her mother, away from her abusive dad. Bea finds a confidence when she sings that she cannot get from anything else. Ivy sees it as her best chance of making a life away from Gosport and a dead-end job. 

The three of them sing in a choir run by the strict but kind Mrs Wilkes. The choir provides a couple of hours of stardust each week, away from school and work and family worries.

When war breaks out, though, dreams must be put on hold. It seems that local pantomimes and charity shows are as far as the girls will be able to go, despite Mrs Wilkes’s faith in their talent. That is, until a mysterious stranger arrives with a proposition that just might change their lives…

Skyline by Kennedy King. Pages: 90. Publication Date: 21 October 2018.

skyline: The Dragon Commander.

Synopsis: It shouldn’t have been possible four years ago, but it was happening.
Major General Christopher Droan survived a crisis once before. It left him with trauma and a deeper understanding of his dad’s distrust for technology.

Chris tried to put it behind him, to focus on the love of his life, recent fiancee Sheba. But, in the year 2350, Cold Fusion, AI nanotech police officers, and the SkyLine between a dying Earth and a developing Mars are parts of life. 

It’s a turbulent environment to be a Major General, even one resigned to desk work. The calm can only last so long. When tragedy strikes Precinct 117 in Shanghai, Chris and his unit are forced to gear up again.

They never thought they’d see something the likes of what shook their world four years ago. That was only the beginning.

What waits for them in the heart of a robot with a beta personality matrix will change the planets on both ends of the SkyLine, mankind, and Major General Christopher Droan, forever.

The last Van Gogh by Will Ottinger. Pages: 318. Publication Date: 7 March 2019.

The Last Van Gogh.

Synopsis: A struggling gallery owner and ex-KGB female assassin team up to chase a lost Van Gogh painting across the world.

Two old letters reveal the existence of an unknown Van Gogh painting. Only four individuals have ever seen the work, all now dead. One deceased man, an alcoholic thief, claimed to have smuggled the painting out of France at the beginning of World War Two. His two sons dedicate themselves to finding the Van Gogh, seeking personal redemption for their father and damaged childhoods. 

Valued at $250 million, the painting attracts an unseen hired killer, three unscrupulous collectors, and the Russian mob. One brother undertakes the search for the painting, accompanied by a beautiful ex-KGB assassin as his bodyguard. Together, their quest takes them from New York to Los Angeles, from Paris to Amsterdam as murders pile up around them. Welcome to the high-end art world, secret deals, and billionaires willing to go to any length to get their hands on the last Van Gogh. 

The Neglected Garden by Suzanne Winterly. Pages: 382. Publication Date: 8 February 2019.

The Neglected Garden.

Synopsis: A garden designer with hope. A property developer with secrets. Will their love grow or will revenge make it wither?

Ireland, 2010. Gilly Townsend’s beloved landscaping business doesn’t survive the financial crash. Just when she thinks she’ll have to move back home, a profitable project to restore an inspirational walled garden lands in her lap. But she never expected her wealthy Londoner boss to inspire her in return.

Marc Fletcher just wants an escape for him and his four-year-old son. As he tries to forget a dark past, Gilly’s skills in the garden bring light back into his life. As he and his landscaper become something more, a family shadow threatens everything he holds dear.

Amidst increasingly angry blackmail, Marc and Gilly’s love starts to blossom. But when threats transform into criminal action, will the developer’s poisonous past bury Gilly six-feet-under?

The Neglected Garden is a standalone romantic suspense novel seeded with intrigue. If you like gutsy heroines, enigmatic heroes, and twists you won’t see coming, then you’ll love Suzanne Winterly’s captivating garden mystery.

The Glittering Hour by Iona Grey. Pages: 400. Publication Date: 30 May 2019.

The Glittering Hour.

Synopsis: The epic and long-awaited new romance from the author of Letters to the Lost, winner of the RNA Award. 

Selina Lennox is a Bright Young Thing. Her life is a whirl of parties and drinking, pursued by the press and staying just the right side of scandal.

Lawrence Weston is a penniless painter who stumbles into Selina’s orbit one night and can never let her go.

Spanning two decades and a seismic shift in British history as World War II approaches, this is an epic novel of passion, heartache and loss.

Her Husbans Mistake by Sheila O’Flanagan. Pages: 411. Publication Date: 30 May 2019.

A Marrage, a secret, & a Wife’s choice….

Synopsis: Dave’s made a BIG mistake. What’s Roxy going to do about it? The riveting new novel from No. 1 bestselling author Sheila O’Flanagan. Perfect for readers of Marian Keyes and Amanda Prowse. 

Roxy’s marriage has always been rock solid.

After twenty years, and with two carefree kids, she and Dave are still the perfect couple. Until the day she comes home unexpectedly, and finds Dave in bed with their attractive, single neighbour.

Suddenly Roxy isn’t sure about anything – her past, the business she’s taken over from her dad, or what her family’s future might be. She’s spent so long caring about everyone else that she’s forgotten what she actually wants. But something has changed. And Roxy has a decision to make.

Whether it’s with Dave, or without him, it’s time for Roxy to start living for herself…

One Last Greek Summer by Mandy Baggot. Pages: 280. Publication Date: 6 June 2019.

One Last Greek Summer.

Synopsis: Beth Martin is 31, newly divorced and wondering just what life holds for her… a

Best-friend, Heidi, is adamant that all the answers lie in Corfu – the island where the girls partied away their youth. So cue a trip to a sun-drenched Greek island, ouzo cocktails, a trip down memory lane… and Alex Hallas, the man Beth has never quite forgotten. 

As they dance under the stars, the sand beneath their toes, old feelings begin to resurface and Beth might just have a chance to take back her life. If they can learn to love the people they’ve become…

Needlemouse by Jane O’Connor. Pages: 384. Publication Date: 27 June 2019.

Needlemouse.

Synopsis: Time to come out of hibernation…

Sylvia Penton has been hibernating for years, it’s no wonder she’s a little prickly…

Sylvia lives alone, dedicating herself to her job at the local university. On weekends, she helps out at a local hedgehog sanctuary because it gives her something to talk about on Mondays – and it makes people think she’s nicer than she is.

Only Sylvia has a secret: she’s been in love with her boss, Professor Lomax, for over a decade now, and she’s sure he’s just waiting for the right time to leave his wife. Meanwhile she stores every crumb of his affection and covertly makes trouble for anyone she feels gets in his way.

But when a bright new PhD candidate catches the Professor’s eye, Sylvia’s dreams of the fairy tale ending she has craved for so long, are soon in tatters, driving her to increasingly desperate measures and an uncertain future. 

Sylvia might have been sleep walking through her life but things are about to change now she’s woken up…

Vampire Hearts by Katie M John. Pages: 312. Publication Date: 27 July 2018.

Vampire Hearts.

Synopsis: Alexander Augustine’s secret has been revealed.

He is a newly emerged vampire and almost killed a human girl. Now there’s no choice but to run, and there’s only one place to go. 

Bathory Academy, home to the next generation of some of the world’s most notorious vampire families, is a college like no other.

As Alexander begins to slowly accept his supernatural life, he is drawn towards the beautiful, but potentially deadly, Scarlett Bathory, soon discovering their history is as tightly knotted as their present.

With revolution, bloodlust, and desire for vampire world domination in the air, Alexander starts to fear he’s nothing but a pawn in a very dangerous game. WILL THEY BE EACH OTHER’S SAVIOUR OR DOWNFALL?

Enter the world of Bathory Academy and find yourself enchanted by the spell of the vampire.

The Bathory Academy series by internationally bestselling and award-winning Young Adult author, Katie M. John, promises you a darkling romantic adventure that lovers of Twilight, Vampire Academy, Vampire Girl, and A Shade of Vampire will fall in love with. 

Summery.

Well April’s challenge consists of 9 Books and a total of 2,945 pages

***I hope you like my April reading list, let me know if you have read any of them.***

1 thought on “My Reading List for April 2019”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s