#ReadingChallenge, Reading Challenge

April Reading List

Again this month, most of the books I’ve chosen to read are from my ARC list. If I manage to read these books then I will then pick something off my GoodReads TBR list again.

Don’t forget to pop by again on the 6 April to see what book I pull out of the Random Jar of the Month.

April’s Books

Synopsis: ‘WONDERFUL! I could not put this book down!… A book to warm your heart and spirit you away to a brighter place. 5 big glittering gold stars! I love it!’ Colleen Coleman, bestselling author of Don’t Stop Me Now .

This summer will change everything!

Aria Summers knows what she wants.

A life on the road with best friend Rosie and her beloved camper-van-cum-book-shop, and definitely, definitely, no romance.

But when Aria finds herself falling – after one too many glasses of wine, from a karaoke stage – into the arms of Jonathan, a part of her comes back to life for the first time in years.

Since her beloved husband died Aria has sworn off love, unless it’s the kind you can find in the pages of a book. One love of her life is quite enough.

And so Aria tries to forget Jonathan and sets off for a summer to remember in France. But could this trip change Aria’s life forever…?
 
A heartwarming, uplifting and hilarious novel of friendship, love and adventure! Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Holly Martin.Readers LOVE Aria’s Travelling Book Shop!

‘A poignant and whimsical second-chance-at-love story for everyone who believes in destiny.’ Susan Mallery, New York Times bestselling author of Sisters by Choice

Kept me reading past bedtime… Will make you laugh and cry but most of all you’ll cheer for Aria and hope she manages to follow her heart… More than just a feel-good read, it’s one that will stay with you for a long time.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

I felt emotionally involved with this book from the start and became totally engrossed in the story… Had me laughing in some places and in tears in others… Brilliant.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Absolutely loved this… I enjoyed every turn of the page… Such a lovely feel good book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Fabulous book.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘You know when you read a book and then the characters stay with you, well this is one of those books… I didn’t want it to end.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘What a lovely read… Beautifully written feel-good book. Highly recommend.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Synopsis: ‘A beautiful book. Gripping, engaging, and absolutely worth the time it takes to burrow yourself into its reality. I can’t recommend it highly enough’ Seanan McGuire

‘Carey writes with compassion and fire – strange and surprising and humane’ Lauren Beukes

EVERYTHING THAT LIVES HATES US . . .

Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognisable landscape. A place where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don’t get you, the Shunned men will.

Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He believes the first rule of survival is that you don’t venture too far beyond the walls.

He’s wrong.

The Book of Koli begins a breathtakingly original new trilogy set in a strange and deadly world of our own making.

‘A captivating start to what promises to be an epic post-apocalyptic fable . . . Narrator Koli’s inquisitive mind and kind heart make him the perfect guide to Carey’s immersive, impeccably rendered world’ Kirkus

‘An ingenious, dizzily provocative novel . . . Carey invents a fantastic far-future world, finding humanity in unlikely places’ Helen Marshall, World Fantasy Award-winning author

‘A thought-provoking and deeply engaging story’ C. A. Fletcher, author of A Boy and his Dog At The End of the World

Look out for the next novels in the trilogy: THE TRIALS OF KOLI and THE FALL OF KOLI

Synopsis: A warm, smart, uplifting tale of true friendship.’ Beth O’Leary, author of The Flatshare

The new novel from Ruth Jones, author of the smash-hit, number one bestselling debut, Never Greener.

Meet Lana, Judith and Catrin. Best friends since primary school when they swore an oath on a Curly Wurly wrapper that they would always be there for each other, come what may.

After the trip of a lifetime, the three girls are closer than ever. But an unexpected turn of events shakes the foundation of their friendship to its core, leaving their future in doubt – there’s simply too much to forgive, let alone forget. An innocent childhood promise they once made now seems impossible to keep . . .

Packed with all the heart and empathy that made Ruth’s name as a screenwriter and now author, Us Three is a funny, moving and uplifting novel about life’s complications, the power of friendship and how it defines us all. Prepare to meet characters you’ll feel you’ve known all your life – prepare to meet Us Three.

Praise for Ruth Jones:

‘Ruth Jones is excellent on human nature and why we make the mistakes we do. I felt for every character. Unputdownable.’
Jojo Moyes, bestselling author of ME BEFORE YOU

‘I love books about gnarly, messy relationships and this one kept me gripped from the beginning. A great read.’
Jane Fallon, bestselling author of TELL ME A SECRET

‘Easy to read and full of laughter – and truth’
Daily Mail

‘Thought-provoking, compelling and ultimately redemptive’
Sunday Express

Synopsis: A thousand years in the future, the last of humanity live inside the walls of the totalitarian Kingdom of Cutta. The rich live in Anais, the capital city of Cutta, sheltered from the famine and disease which ravage the rest of the Kingdom. Yet riches and power only go so far, and even Anaitians can be executed. It is only by the will of the King that Nate Anteros, son of the King’s favourite, is spared from the gallows after openly dissenting. But when he’s released from prison, Nate disappears.

A stark contrast, Catherine Taenia has spent her entire life comfortable and content. The daughter of the King’s Hangman and in love with Thom, Nate’s younger brother, her life has always been easy, ordered and comfortable. That is, where it doesn’t concern Nate. His actions sullied not only his future, but theirs. And unlike Thom, Catherine has never forgiven him.

Two years pass without a word, and then one night Nate returns. But things with Nate are never simple, and when one wrong move turns their lives upside down, the only thing left to do is run where the King’s guards cannot find them – the Outlands. Those wild, untamed lands which stretch around the great walls of the Kingdom, filled with mutants and rabids.

Let me know if you’ve read or reviewed any of these book, and tell me what you think of them. Or just let me know what books are on your reading list for April.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s